Thoughts on the Death of Bin Laden

I don’t have the desire or the energy to be eloquent right now, so I’ll get straight to the point.  It’s disturbing to hear all the rejoicing (especially from followers of Jesus) about the death of Osama Bin Laden.  Jesus called us to love our enemies and pray for the very one’s who persecute us–not to rejoice and celebrate in their deaths.  The world is not a safer place because of Bin Laden’s death.  The world is not a better place because of Bin Laden’s death.  The world is not a more just, holy and godly place because of Bin Laden’s death.   Violence cannot bring an end to violence.  Violence cannot bring an end to terrorism.  Violence cannot bring an end to war.  Violence cannot bring peace, justice or more of heaven (the reign of God) to earth.  The problem is deeper.  The problem that gives rise to Bin Ladens (and the subsequent violence of war and conflict) is the lie of violence, which we believe will bring peace but only breeds more violence.  This should be evident from the warnings about a potential increase in violence following Bin Laden’s death.  Let us, as Christians, stop celebrating over the death of a fellow human being, and let us start praying for peace–an end to violence of all kinds, an end to the violence that creates people like Bin Laden and the subsequent wars that follow.

4 responses to “Thoughts on the Death of Bin Laden

  1. Let me say respectfully that I agree that we should not rejoice in death, but I do think it is appropriate to rejoice in justice.

    Surely, the line between those two things is thin, and there are many who have rejoiced in his death.

    However, as one who has no connection whatsoever to 9/11 (except for the fact that it happened in the country that I live in), I find it difficult to tell others who have lost loved ones what they should or should not rejoice in. I have too many planks in my own eye that I need to get rid of before I can address such a serious issue.

    Just my two cents.

    • Matt,

      Thanks for the feedback. I fully agree that those who have lost loved in the 9/11 attacks will feel a sense of relief, closure, perhaps even joy at the report of Bin Laden’s death. Whatever they are feeling is not the issue, because we cannot choose how we feel. However, I believe we have some control over how we express our emotions. This was the aim of my comments. I have a hard time seeing people rejoicing in the streets (or rejoicing on facebook, twitter, etc.) over anyone’s death. Whatever people felt is not the issue. How some chose to express their emotions publicly is what I found difficult to handle. We are all human. We are all flawed. I, too, have many planks in my eye. So, I wasn’t trying to condemn/judge them. I was simply expressing my feelings of frustration over the joy expressed over the death of another human being.

      Thanks again for the comments. I hope this helps explain where I’m coming from with my comments.

  2. Hey thanks for the post. I have similar views to yours, check it out here

    http://douglasmcknight.wordpress.com/category/politics-current-events-and-society/political/

    When the news of bin Laden’s death hit the newswaves, I was in the library at my college here in Oklahoma. The place erupted in applauce and rejoicing [yes, here all the way in oklahoma…]. To me, this kind of abrupt nationalism was frightening. Seeing friends of mine who couldnt care less about policy or politics all of the sudden get swept up in a rejoicement of a death in a war was out of place. It reminded me of George Orwells “2 Minutes Hate” from 1984.

    • Doug,

      Thanks for taking time to read a few of my posts, and thanks for the link to your blog. I look forward to reading some of your posts in the near future. I would certainly be open to dialogue.

      Thanks again, and I hope you’re having a good week so far.

      Zach

Leave a Reply

